Text Version

GTE Lab Text Only

Workforce Education LAB

Frameworks for Planning Workforce Education:
GED (General Education Development)

Those who pass the General Education Development (GED) Tests earn a high school equivalency diploma. This enables people who did not finish high school to qualify for college and various job opportunities. Any adult who is not in high school or who has left school without graduating can take the GED Test, as long as eligibility requirements set by the state department of education are met.

Although no formal preparation is required, many people attend adult education classes before taking GED Tests. There are five parts to the GED Tests - Writing Skills, Social Studies, Science, Interpreting Literature and the Arts, and Mathematics. The test questions require general knowledge and thinking skills. All the test questions are multiple choice, except the Writing Skills Test, which requires an essay.

See The Center for Adult Learning and Educational Credentials for information on the GED tests, research, and publications.